28 Nation States With Cyber Warfare Capabilities

The 2nd edition of Inside Cyber Warfare: Mapping The Cyber Underworld will contain 4 new chapters plus a new Forward by former DHS Secretary Michael Chertoff and an Afterward by Professor Catherine Lotrionte of Georgetown University. One of those chapters is entitled "Cyber Warfare Capabilities By Nation State". For those of you who can't wait for the 2nd edition to come out, here are the 27 28* States:

  1. Australia
  2. Brazil
  3. Canada
  4. Czech Republic
  5. Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  6. Estonia
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. India
  10. Iran
  11. Israel
  12. Italy
  13. Kenya
  14. Myanmar
  15. Netherlands
  16. Nigeria
  17. Pakistan
  18. Peoples Republic of China
  19. Poland
  20. Republic of China (Taiwan)
  21. Republic of Korea
  22. Russian Federation
  23. Singapore
  24. South Africa
  25. Sweden
  26. Turkey
  27. United Kingdom
  28. United States*
This is not a complete list, but it's a start. We may roll it over into an up-datable website and add the states that we missed for the book (e.g., all of the members of the Commonwealth of Independent States, additional states from Africa and South America, etc.)

* UPDATE: (29 Sep 2011) I left the U.S. off the original list because it's covered under one of the other new chapters! Sorry, everyone. :-D