Cyber Threats Require An Expansion Of The Sensitive Countries List

The website Public Intelligence has released Sandia National Labs and the Department of Energy's Sensitive Countries List. This is a list of 26 countries where approval is required for a visit or an assignment by a DOE employee because the country is known to engage in activities which may be contrary to the interests of the U.S. Of those 26 countries, I've identified 11 who are also developing CNO (Cyber Network Operation capabilities including CNE (Cyber Network Exploitation):
  • Democratic Peoples Republic of Korea (North Korea)
  • Peoples Republic of China (including Hong Kong)
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Russian Federation
  • Syria
  • Republic of China (Taiwan)
  • Ukraine
There's actually many more countries with these capabilities that do not appear on the Sensitive Countries list and I hopeful that that will change in the next few years.